top of page

You feel you don't fit? So what?

When I was younger, I was not popular amongst my classmates at school...tall, with bushy curly hair, big glasses, skinny and shy was not their ''favorite'' type. However, this made me find other ways to empower myself, either by having more hobbies, by getting lots of penpals around the world and by learning languages. So somehow, instead of investing time in wondering why I don't have so many friends, I was investing time in learning things.

It just didn't bother me ... that's what basically I want to say.

With the years I learned of course that it is not the quantity of the friends that counts, but the quality.

I also learned that those who will cross your path and stay your friend for ever, will eventually cross your path and stay your friend for ever.

In the process of learning all these though, the road was not easy...I many times doubted myself and many times I felt I just didn't fit. For example as a teenager I didn't like the sleepovers, I didn't like to exchange clothes with my best friend, I didn't like to smoke and I didn't like to share bathroom. I wanted my privacy.

Long story short, it took me a while to look at the mirror and say: I love you.

This statement has been since that day, tested many times of course. Either in the form of bad mouthing, back stabbing, gossiping, people not being happy with your happiness, judging your choices etc...

There is a particular type of personality that complete mismatches mine: The negativator! A negativator is a person that will use a generic statement or a famous quote to prove that for example posting about being happy on Facebook actually means that there is something wrong about you or in reality you are unhappy.

The negativator will criticise your motives of wanting to help others by saying that : Oh you know you want to do this just for your own personal advertising...Show of...Convince people that you are "a good person".

Well guess what ??? I really don't care what a negativator thinks.

I don't owe to this person an explanation of why I want to help others. I don't owe to this person an explanation why i like to share my happiness with my friends and also be happy when they are happy and sad when they are sad...

I live my life the way I want and I always try to be a better person every day.

And if that costs me friends, it's fine.

So in front of my mirror I don't say anymore '' I love you''.

I say: ''I love you no matter what''.

And that's the message I try to pass to my children:

Love and respect yourself , get to know yourself, live your life to the fullest, do more of the things that make you happy and help others no matter what!

bottom of page