top of page

Why every woman needs a fashion stylist.

It was a typical Saturday morning in Luxembourg. Grey sky, quiet roads, a bit chilly.

What was not typical for a Saturday morning was that I was getting ready to go to a styling session with a fashion stylist. Me to a styling session? Do I really need it? Will it offer me anything?

Normally my winter look consists of a pair of black boots, a pair of jeans and a fluffy black jacket. I used to dress myself really nice but that was some centuries ago, before I had my 2 beautiful girls, before I start running the motherhood marathon with a full time job, some side projects and activities and before of course I put on weight and becoming more round. Nothing wrong with that of course and I really like the way I look….well….let’s be honest maybe not always…

To convince myself I whisper that it is absolutely normal that I will do a styling session. It’s not only the celebrities that can do this. I can do it to. I really want to try and I like the fashion stylist. I met her through some social events in Luxembourg and she always looks amazing. Of course you will say: She’s a fashion stylist. But I discovered to my good surprise that she is way more than a fashion stylist.

- Where are you going babes? My husband asks disturbing my thoughts.…

- I go to see a fashion stylist.

- For what? My husband says (typical man hehe).

- Well to get some advise about what I should wear and what colors suit me.

- Everything suits you baby, he says and I re-confirm why I love this man so much :)

It was when the door of her home opened when it stroke me: It is not about the clothing, it is about the confidence, the warm smile and the spark in the eyes that the right clothing gives. It is about the warm feeling you get when you meet a new person for the first time and you feel like you have known this person for a long time. A simple grey dress, matched with a beautiful yet simple red necklace and some plain black home slippers that look like soft ballerinas it was enough to make me realize that yes it matters how you dress and what first and second and third impression you give to others. Neha, my fashion stylist ( I have officially a fashion stylist :)) welcomes me and brings me to the inside of her beautifully decorated home ( are fashion stylists also interior decorators?...it seems so) and offers me delicious indian tea.

Neha is Indian and reminds me of a Bollywood actress. She could definitely be one…Beautiful, intelligent and well dressed.

I never knew before how the styling session would be conducted. And of course I will not reveal everything here to you as you need to try it for yourself.

What I can say is that Neha had an amazing calm and polite way to ask me questions, to measure me ( ok I must admit that was tough…especially at the belly area :)) and to make me realize some things about myself and my current lifestyle. She also helped me realize that a wardrobe shall represent your lifestyle and by doing so, you can donate lots of things you don’t really wear or need ( de-cluttering), you can re-define the way you combine your clothes and you can actually learn to avoid mistakes, bad combinations of clothes etc.

What I learned from my first session?

If you look good, you will feel good.

If you feel good, you will give love and you will embrace positivity.

If you want this job, being dressed properly might actually help you get it.

If you don’t know what to wear to a first date, she will be there to hold your hand and guide you.

Sometimes you really need a hand to take you through happiness. And sometimes this hand comes out of a wardrobe.

So Ladies, if you think a fashion styling session is not for you, think twice. You might be amazed by the things you will learn and discover about you and your life.

Thank you Neha and StylizedU for a wonderful first session. Looking forward to the second one !

bottom of page